Intricacies

I had finished my speaking test for IELTS, the first candidate. I was supposed to be the last to take the test. As Mr. Kok said, I abused my clout and power as the only lady there and was granted to be the first. All thanks to the bunch of gentlemen in my class who are so generous and kind.

German. I was deeply touched when Jia Hui presenting “Meine Familie” (My Family) to the class. She is a gifted writer as she can convey and express her feelings into words. I could sense and observe the blues as she was reading her melancholy piece of writing. I’m so grateful that I could still spend quality time with my family during the weekends. It meant a lot to me. Though sometimes, I just fritter it away. It taught me to appreciate them more and not take them for granted. I’ve counted, to be exact I will have another 59 times more to spend time with them before I leave for Germany.

Life. One moment, one can feel so insignificant and petty and next, one can experience the vitality of their existance.
Life is a tragedy for those who feel, and a comedy for those who think.
La Bruyere

We had a task today in class. “Freunde”. Was bedeutet ein guter Freund fuer mich?
What is my definition of a good friend? I began to muse on some of the qualities a good friend possess. Simultaneously, I was questioning myself whether or not do I own those values which I’m looking for in a goof friend. It is bizarre feelings to reckon that we humans always want to be loved, cared and noticed. But we are somehow awkward or tongue-tied when it comes to expressing our own feelings regardless of to our family, friends or loved ones. Why is it so difficult for us to utter or articulate our feelings?

By the way, this are some of the things I will do with my best friend:

#1 We share our ups and downs
#2 We share our deepest secrets
#3 We care for each other
#4 We are honest and open to each other
#5 We console and cheer up one another
#6 We enjoy having sleep over
#7 We encourage and comfort one another
#8 We go for movie
#9 We are not shy to verbalize “I LOVE YOU” to each other
#10 We are ecstatic when we are together

and the list goes on…..

At the end, I’ve notice. I miss Joyce. Though we are apart. She is always my “someone” who I can proudly declare and announce that – Yes! She is my best friend and she is special to me!

Love is patient, love is kind.
It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.
It is not rude, it is not self-seeking.
It is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.
Love does not delight in evil, but rejoices with the truth
It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
Love never fails.
I Corinthians 13:4-8

Yeah! It’s Tuesday. Friday is drawing near. Can’t wait.

I miss Joyce. I miss Kai ling. I miss Hau Wei. I miss Kohilan. I miss Jason.
I MISS HOME!

