Sixer

I’m as free as a bird for now. This is awesome. Finals and camp were all over and done. What’s next?

I just came back from ‘Kursus Kenegaraan’ organized by Biro Tatanegara, JPM yesterday. It was held for 5 days 4 nights and completely drained me, both emotionally and physically. I’m rather stoned now. Besides the tight schedule and 4 to 5 hours of sleep, we had to endure a total of 8 hours mental torture every day. The fact that I’m absent from all this require some adaptation. Don’t get me wrong. I’m grateful that I was part of it. We had definitely gained a lot from it. As a result, I caught a chill too.

We underwent an entire of 8 hours of talk on the first day, “Tanah Air, Rakyat, Kerajaan and lastly Kedaulatan”. Looking back at my little dairy I wrote daily when I was there assured my learning development.

There were other sensitive issues raised and discussed.

Something that really caught my interest during one of the talks was this.

The speaker used this example to illustrate the social justice which Malaysian Government is practicing.

His story really made me ponder.

Say, G has two wives, M and C. M is sized XXXXXXXL whereas C is sized S. For a celebration, G requires to buy each M and C a piece of cloth in order to make into their preferred costumes. To ensure he does not show favoritism towards any one of his wives, he has to buy the same length of cloth. Hence, he bought 4 meters for both wives. As a result, the XXXXXXXL sized M only managed to get a piece of mini skirt out of it. On the other hand, the S sized C got a long dress, a blouse and also a skirt out of it.

Is it fair?

I’m not sure if it means anything to you.

In this case here, it clearly states the social distribution in Malaysia, the Malay as the majority, Chinese and Indian as the minority. The quota system here is purely justified. However, I’m not saying that the majority should abuse their special rights to marginalize the two other races. This is not right either. We are not trying to square the circle. The key recipe is give and take.

Till then..

Salam Muhibah…

