Foodprint

Photobucket
Every day, tens of millions of one-day-old male chicks are killed because they will not be able to lay eggs. There are no rules about how this mass slaughter takes place. Some are crushed or suffocated to death. Many are used for fertiliser or fed to other animals.

 

I’m ashamed to admit that I put off almost one year to adopt this commitment for real.

I was too chicken to commit to my decision as I was afraid that I will be a burden to my family and friends with my new eating habit.

I was wrong.

Here’s a little story on how it all started:

My first attempt on pure vegetarian diet begun when I was in India. It wasn’t much of a hoo-haa as almost 40% of Indian households are vegetarian. And I’m sure you know the figures better than I do, 40% of 1.2 billion people in total (minus the unreported cases)……. do the math. Daniel, Kalyani and Andy were very encouraging on this matter, the reasons on why I should be a vegetarian were too good for me to resist.

Soon after that I landed home for two weeks and never really mentioned my will of changing my diet to my family. I know that they wouldn’t be particularly supportive plus who would actually give up the only 2 weeks full of TLC with family I have. I didn’t want to make a fuss out of it.

Then I was back in Hamburg at end of September 2010, I continued my meatless diet for almost 2 months before I got diagnosed with Shingles. Doctor claimed that my immunity was low and prone to suffer from diseases so he suggested that I should get back to my normal nourishment for that period of time. Shortly after that, it was Christmas and New Year’s Eve, friends, parties and get-together, I got carried away and cornered the idea in the name of not “jeopardizing” my health.

When Katja and I made a pledge of a 30-Days-without-meat mission together, I was in cloud nine. We pulled that off  before I head home for my Winter break.

My plan disrupts whenever I’m not cooking at home or having lunch in my school’s cafeteria because I tend to be “weak” when it comes to dining out with friends.

Nevertheless on THIS day, I’m so blessed that  a friend gave me strength and inspired me again to push forward where I’ve started.

Therefore, in conjunction with the World Children’s Day and World’s Environmental Day this year, I dedicate my pledge of effort for our children of tomorrow and an act to reduce my environmental and ecological footprint.

